Graduation in:


Vice Chancellor, Prof. John Mugisha Elected Board Member for Inter – University Council for East Africa (IUCEA)

During the 13th Annual Meeting and Conference of the Inter – University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) which took place from 5th -6th July 2022 in Bujumbura, Burundi, the Vice Chancellor of Cavendish University Uganda, Prof. John Francis Mugisha was elected as a Board Member of the Governing Board for IUCEA for a term of 2 years.

Prof. John Mugisha currently serves on numerous high profile regional and national Boards, including the National Council for Higher Education (NCHE) where he represents the Vice Chancellors of Private Universities in Uganda, the Uganda Vice Chancellors’ Forum (UVCF), where he serves as the Vice Chairperson, a position he has held since 2021, among others.

At the meeting, the Vice Chancellor of East African University Rwanda, Prof. Kabera Callixte was voted the new Chairperson of IUCEA, replacing Prof. Christine Dranzoa, the former Vice Chancellor of Muni University who passed away on 28th June 2022.

The IUCEA Annual Meeting comprises of universities, university colleges, other Degree Awarding Institutions, and currently stands at 133 member universities.

The Annual Meeting brings together higher education stakeholders to take stock of the development in higher education and research in the region, to enable IUCEA to appropriately advise the EAC Partner States on any aspects or matters related to higher education dynamics in the region and globally.

The Annual Meeting also gives its members an opportunity to reflect on educational development strategies by creating an environment for the exchange of information, experiences on higher education, and publication of both academic and applied research within the region.

The Conference Theme this Year was; “Strengthening academia-industry partnership for commercialization of research and innovation in the EAC: Prospects for regional integration”.

Further Reading

IUCEA General Assembly elects New Members of the Governing Board (2022-2024)

Share this:

Subscribe to our Newsletter for updates